

April 21, 2021 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 2,700+ students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains, Ed.D. at 815.469.9103

District 161 Those Who Excel program award recipients honored

At Wednesday night's meeting, eight staff members were nominated by their colleagues and publicly recognized as recipients of District 161 Those Who Excel honors in conjunction with ISBE's state Those Who Excel program. The program affords districts the opportunity to share how much efforts of school community members are valued and appreciated. The following individuals were recognized: Kristi Linke, school counselor at Walker School; Laura Vlosak, nurse at Arbury Hills School; classroom teachers Jody Diehl and James Welsh, Arbury Hills School; Stacey Froeschle, Frankfort Square; and Katie Mecher, Dr. Julian Rogus School; and administrators Maura Carroll, Walker School; and Dana Wright, Indian Trail School.

Board Members thanked for their service to the district

Wednesday night's meeting was the final meeting for Board President Rich Marron, Board Secretary Dave Faber, and Board Member Joy Murphy. The three members are leaving the Board after a combined 24 years of dedicated service.

Most notable among the district accomplishments made during their tenure on the Board include:

- The successful melding of Board Goal 1 (student achievement) and Board Goal 2 (the whole child) defined in Board Policy 6:65 and Board Policy 2:80 to enhance the longterm development of academic skills and knowledge, decision-making skills, and interpersonal skills for long-term student success.
- Support of the district's comprehensive Safe Schools Program through Board Policy 4:70 that includes at-risk, bullying, and threat assessment protocols, installation of security cameras throughout the district, removal of polling places from within our schools, and active partnerships with the Will County Sheriff's Office, and Mokena, Tinley Park, and Frankfort Police and Fire Protection Districts.
- Guided by Board Policy 4:30, support for the retirement of some callable bonds that were replaced with new bonds at more favorable terms to reduce debt financing costs for district taxpayers at a savings of \$4.3 million.

In personnel matters, the Board

- employed William Frossard, Building and Grounds Manager; and Laura Kain, lunchroom supervisor;
- employed Clarissa Discher, teacher at Indian Trail for the 2021-2022 school year; and Connie Blondin, learning center aide at Dr. Julian Rogus School for the 2021-2022 school year;
- employed the following individuals for the ESY program: Cathy Szaflarski, social worker; Margo Powell, occupational therapist; Monica Ruiz, BCBA; and paraprofessionals Christine Ciraulo, Meghan Bednarz, Amber Mutz, Cheryl Hajewski, and William Bruno;
- employed the following teachers for the summer academic boot camps: Karina Wise, Christi Perch, Joy Reno, Yorlyn O'Leary, Susan Hartley, Linda Leodoro, Kathryn Hopkins, Ed Kurnat, Agnes Soch, and Katie McGrath.

In other matters, the Board

- approved the administration of the Illinois Assessment of Readiness in spring 2021;
- set the last day of the 2021-2022 school year as June 7, 2021;
- approved one-year contracts with Alpha Building Maintenance Services and Bill's Lawn Maintenance;
- approved a one-year preventative maintenance contract with Carrier;
- approved a letter of agency to procure internet/networking;
- approved Mueller CPA to perform the FY21 annual financial audit;
- acknowledged that SHJH Associate Principal Jen Winefka has earned accelerated tenure status;
- approved multi-year contracts ending in the 2022-2023 school year for Frances Boss, Colin Bradley, Tracy Bulfer, Maura Carroll, Leslie DeBoer, Jason Isdonas, John Snipes, Jennifer Winefka, Dana Wright, and the extension of Laura Goebel's contract through the 2023-2024 school year;
- approved a 4.0% increase for administrators;
- approved an overall 4.3% increase for non-certified staff;
- made available a temporary stipend opportunity for certified staff members for the 2020-2021 school year only;
- approved a one-time stipend for the Technology Specialist/Manager;
- approved a certified nurse job description and a health clerk job description;
- authorized the Superintendent to begin the process of developing the tentative budget for the 2021-2022 school year;
- approved the purchase of 500 Lenovo 300E Intel model student tablets and cases;
- heard an update on the Walker cycle schedule for the 2021-2022 school year; and
- heard an update on the monthly financial review.

Rich Marron Stacey Borgens David Faber George Leonard James Martin Joy Murphy Trudy Sturino
President Vice President Secretary Member Member Member Member